Home / About the CLS

Structure of CLS

The Center for Language Science resides within the Colleges of Liberal Arts and Health and Human Development. It is governed by an internal faculty advisory committee and also an external advisory board. The composition of each of these groups reflects the cross-disciplinary approaches that characterize the CLS.

The Internal Faculty Advisory Committee

Director of the Center for Language Science
Professor Judith Kroll - jfk7@psu.edu
(Department of Psychology)

Associate Co-Directors of the Center for Language Science
Professor Giuli Dussias - pdussias@psu.edu
(Department of Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese)

Professor Janet van Hell - jgv3@psu.edu
(Department of Psychology)

Director of the Linguistics Program
Professor Janet van Hell - jgv3@psu.edu
(Department of Psychology)

The External Advisory Board

The advisory board for the CLS comprises four internationally-renowned researchers each representing our various disciplines.

Professor Margaret Deuchar
Director, ESRC Centre for Research on Bilingualism
University of Wales, Bangor

Professor Karen Emmorey
Director, Laboratory for Language and Cognitive Neuroscience
San Diego State University

Professor Laurence Leonard
Rachel E. Stark Distinguished Professor
Purdue University

Professor John Trueswell
Director of the IGERT Language and Communication Program
University of Pennsylvania

National and International Collaborations

The CLS includes affiliated researchers around the world.  Our many national and international collaborations bring distinguished visitors to the Penn State campus, and provide opportunities for our students to gain valuable research experience at other U.S. universities as well as in other countries. The CLS is an affiliate of the NSF Science of Learning Center at Gallaudet University, opening up further opportunities for collaboration in deaf studies, translation, and sign languages. 

Support for the CLS is provided from within Penn State by the Children, Youth, and Families Consortium; The College of the Liberal Arts; and the College of Health and Human Development. Funding for individual faculty and graduate students is provided by grants from the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation.